Sunday Hunting

huntingIn my column, “Rubs, Scrapes and Tangle” in the 2007 October Alberta Outdoorsmen, I discusss the long-standing issue of no Sunday hunting in Alberta. Many hunters wrongly believe it to be a religious issue. It hasn’t been that for years. Instead, it is people management issue where land owners want at least one day a week where they will not be bothered by hunters asking for permission or indeed trespassing on their land. (Note: In 2008, Alberta opened most of the province to Sunday hunting. See my revised article.)

So, what’s wrong with that?

Don

www.donmeredith.ca

About Don Meredith

I am a writer and biologist living in Alberta, Canada. I write a monthly column for the Alberta Outdoorsmen magazine.
This entry was posted in Alberta Outdoorsmen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Hunting

  1. Chris S says:

    I live in B.C. and have never heard of something as stupid as “No hunting on Sundays” Do they actually enforce something as stupid as that? I was thinking of hunting in Alberta for a few days but when 20% of my time is removed it makes me think of re-considering hunting Alberta and going to northern BC and spend my money there.

  2. Don Meredith says:

    Actually, when I wrote the article (available on my web site), over half of the province was open to Sunday hunting. However, beginning this hunting season (2008), all the province has been opened to Sunday hunting for game birds and all but a small portion of Alberta in the southeast corner is open on Sundays for big game. So, Sunday hunting is no longer an issue in Alberta.

Leave a Reply

