Calling All Bucks

Day 3 started out well. The wind was light and out of the east, perfect for many of the areas I like to hunt which have west access. The temperature was just below freezing. 

That latter condition posed the largest problem. There was still some snow on the ground in protected places and it crunched loudly, at least to my ears. So, my still hunting had to be very cautious and slow. This did pay dividends. I step-step-stopped my way through the bush to a favorite opening and saw the flash of a white-tail. I pulled out my grunt tube, gave a couple of grunts like a doe and sure enough the buck turned around and came back to give me another look. I saw he was a three-point (one side) buck with a nice rack but it was early in the season and I was hoping to find something larger. So, I played with him a bit to see if I could get him closer. He balked on two more occasions only to return to my call. My technique was improving. Although not sure of what I was, he was never really spooked. Finally, he gave up and left the area.

I continued on my hunt into the east wind, following old cutlines and game trails. There was very little deer sign, and like my previous hunts I was finding more moose and elk tracks than deer. However, snow should be coming in the next week and temperatures will be dropping–just in time for the rut to kick into top gear.

Now, I have a good idea where I should be setting up my blinds and planning my still hunts. The anticipation is building.

So, what’s wrong with that?

www.donmeredith.ca

About Don Meredith

I am a writer and biologist living in Alberta, Canada. I write a monthly column for the Alberta Outdoorsmen magazine.
This entry was posted in Hunting Diary and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

