Few and Far Between

Wow, yesterday was not the day I thought it was going to be. With a fresh skiff of snow on the ground and the deer rut in full gear, I thought I should see a lot of tracks indicating a lot of activity. I drove to my favorite area. It was about minus 15 C with a stiff west wind. I quickly cleared the ground to the east to head into a heavily wooded area on an old cutline at just about legal time (1/2 hour before sunrise). I step-step-stopped my way into the south and southwest, occasionally breaking off to take a game trail. The deer tracks were few and far between. There were lots of coyote tracks. I heard or saw no game after about six hours of hunting. For November 21, this is very unusual.

Don’t get me wrong, there are deer there. I did see tracks, and some were undoubtedly made by at least one buck. But I should have seen more, especially doe tracks. The big bucks should be with the does now and the younger ones should be looking for unattended does. All of this activity should be leaving tracks–but not so. This is the second day I have been seeing little activity. Either there are very few deer, or the rut is very much delayed, or it is occurring in other places–or perhaps all three.

Well, there are seven days left and I will probably hunt three of them, and in reality I only have to see one good deer.  Such are what makes deer hunting so interesting–one season is never the same as another.

So, what’s wrong with that?

www.donmeredith.ca

About Don Meredith

I am a writer and biologist living in Alberta, Canada. I write a monthly column for the Alberta Outdoorsmen magazine.
This entry was posted in Hunting Diary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

