Fall Camp

The colours of fall

Fall is a special time of year.

It’s only a couple of days to the official beginning of fall, but of course, here in Alberta our fall usually starts much earlier. Our day length shortens rapidly, and the plants and animals sense this and start acting differently. To hunters like myself, the turning leaves and new scents in the air get the blood pumping a little harder. Hunting season has arrived and it’s time to get out and get reacquainted with the natural world and harvest some of the bounty.

I belong a group that has hunted together—more or less—for the last 35 years for moose or elk in the early season. This year, neither of us were successful in the draw (or lottery) for moose licences, so our interests have once again turned to bush elk and deer, both of which only require so-called ‘general’ licences bought ‘over the counter’. Fundamentally, it doesn’t really matter what we are hunting. What is important is that we are going to be out in the wild and there is potential for getting some organic, low-fat, wild meat in the freezer.

So, I once again find my den filling with hunting and camping gear in various stages of readiness, and my desk covered with shopping and check lists. All this brings to my mind a couple of articles I have published about the early hunt and that I have posted on my web site. Moose Camp describes the process our group went through over the years to make a comfortable and safe camp. Team Moose describes how our group got together and how, generally, people pick members of a hunting group. I received several comments on both articles from other hunters who agreed that they go through similar processes.

[Update: Go to my 2011 August 10 blog entry The Successful Hunting Camp for a description of how a camp should be laid out.]

So, what’s wrong with that?

www.donmeredith.ca

Interested in reading an award-winning outdoor adventure novel? Check out my The Search for Grizzly One and Dog Runner.

About Don Meredith

I am a writer and biologist living in Alberta, Canada. I write a monthly column for the Alberta Outdoorsmen magazine.
This entry was posted in Alberta, Hunting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

